The most beautiful tube station

The first Tube adventure starts in Gants Hill, a station on the Central Line in the borough of Redbridge.  According to Wikipedia, Gants Hill is the easternmost station that is entirely underground on the Tube system.

IMG_5356

Because I was about to go to Central London, I thought I would go out half an hour earlier just to take the tube to Gants Hill, and finally go to where I needed to go. I’m not telling you because I’m too lazy to go out another day so I’m doing everything in one day… 

Gants Hill is actually quite a special station.  It is obviously quite old, just like most of the tube stations.  But since the architect, Charles Holden, was a consultant for the Moscow Metro, the station was inspired by many Russian stations.  And you can tell from the ceiling.  I haven’t been to Russia but the ceiling resembles the communist stations I saw in photos of Russia and North Korea.

IMG_5354

It is quite distinct from other tube stations.  Maybe it is because of the time of the day, the station is almost empty.  Different from other central London stations, I actually felt quite tranquil when I was at the station.  And of course when there are fewer people, it is easier to take nicer photos. 😉

I know there are so so so SO many other unique stations on the London Underground network.  Let me know what’s your favourite station by commenting below, so I can pay a visit too! 🙂


As always, thanks for stopping by!  Follow my journey on:

 Facebook

 Instagram

 Twitter

…and have a lovely day!

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54493_145_E36695BE7E55E925E2CB6A6DA09B6E87

6 thoughts on “The most beautiful tube station

Leave a Reply

